Art and Design. Literature and Film. Travel and Culture. Indifference and Seduction.

Sorrow

The quality of this photograph sucks – my camera has been increasingly hostile ever since my foolishly optimistic attempt at sandboarding in Chile.  “Sorrow” is the third in a series of 78 (I’m not kidding) paintings I’m working on.  Since I’m currently stuck on number five, I have no delusions that I will finish, but it’s sort of comforting to know that I will never, ever run out of things to do.  Underneath this painting is a story a friend of mine told me about his very early childhood in Greece:  One day, while exploring his uncle’s farm, he came across the sight of his uncle slaughtering the lambs for dinner. Traumatized, he ran back to his mother, shouting, “Mama, there’s fire coming out of their necks!” There’s something so arresting about that image, and while painting, I kept imagining what fire looks like when it bleeds.

Leave a Reply

